COSPAR Panel on Exploration (PEX)



Committee On Space Research (COSPAR)

After the USSR launched its first Earth Satellite in 1957 and thereby opened the space age, the International Council of Scientific Unions (ICSU), now the International Council for Science, established its Committee on Space Research (COSPAR) during an international meeting in London in 1958. COSPAR's first Space Science Symposium was organized in Nice in January 1960.


40th COSPAR Scientific Assembly

Moscow, Russia, 2-10 August 2014


Scientific Commissions, Panels and Special Events:

Abstract Submission Deadline: Friday, February 14, 2014 at 23:59 CET


Scientific Panel on Exploration: International Coordination of Planning for Space Exploration

MSO/DO: Pascale Ehrenfreund/Jean-Claude Worms



Ambitious plans to build new space infrastructure, transport systems, and space probes require international cooperation to create a sustainable long-term space exploration program. Space agencies are seeking consensus on priorities, objectives, and approaches for future exploration of space. Furthermore, an increasing number of countries and organizations show interest in participating in future space exploration efforts.There are currently many independent groups planning activities relating to future space exploration scenarios of the Earth-Moon-Mars space addressing different stakeholders, including national space agencies as well as non-profit and commercial interests. The organizations and most active working groups include the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA), the International Astronautical Federation (IAF) through its standing space exploration committee, the International Lunar and Mars Exploration Working Groups (ILEWG, IMEWG respectively), and the International Space Exploration Working Group(LEAG), the National Research Council's Space Studies Board (SSB) and the European Science Foundation's European Space Sciences Committee (EST-ESSC). COSPAR, as the major international space organization with primary focus on science, has significant interests in ensuring appropriate consideration of science in future exploration activities. The COSPAR Panel on Exploration, PEX, explores pathways for improving coordination and invites papers in support of international space exploration activities.

Scientific Organizing Committee:

Cassie Conley (NASA HQ, USA), David Kendall (CSA, Canada), Tanja Masson-Zwaan (ISSL, Netherlands), Maria A. Perino (Thales Alenia, Italy), Nicolas Peter (ESA, Belgium), John Rummel (Univ. East Carolina, USA), Stephan Ulamec (DLR, Germany)