Careers in Space Policy

A number of individuals who have received degrees with a focus on space policy issues have gone on to interesting and rewarding careers.

"I'm very grateful for the exciting opportunities the Space Policy Institute has enabled!" – Dan Hendrickson, Class of 2011

Andrew Aldrin, Moon Express

Joe Bassi, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Kate Becker, NOAA, Office of International Affairs and Interagency Affairs

Stephanie Bednarek , Government Affairs, SpaceX

Andre Bormanis, formerly science consultant and senior editor and script writer for the Star Trek series and author of Star Trek: Science Logs

Steve Casazza, Manager, Trade Policy & Technology Release, Sierra Nevada Corporation

David Cavossa, President, Harris Caprock Government Solutions

Al Condes, Deputy Assistant Administrator, Office of External Relations, NASA

Tom Cremins, Senior Advisor to the Administrator, NASA

Daphne Dador, Office of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs, NASA

Royce Dalby, Avascent

Dwayne Day, Space Studies Board, National Academy of Sciences

Laura Delgado Lopez, Project Manager, Secure World Foundation

Daniel Deudney, Associate Professor, International Relations and Political Theory, The Johns Hopkins University

Brian Dewhust, White House Office of Management and Budget; formerly of Office of Program Analysis and Evaluation, NASA

Dustin Doud, Business Development, SpaceX

Lori Garver, Deputy Administrator, NASA -- Elliott School Endorsement

Edward Goldstein, Aerospace Industries Association

Lewis Groswald, U.S. Senate Subcommittee on Science and Space

Erin Hatch Neal, Director of Senate Relations, Washington Office, ATK Corporation

Dan Hendrickson, Business Development, Astrobotic

Garth Henning, Office of Chief Financial Officer, NASA

Thor Hogan, Faculty Member, Earlham University

Chris Homan, Foreign Policy Advisor for Senator Richard J. Durbin

Matthew Isakowitz, Planetary Resources

Corinne Jorgenson, President, Advancing Space Consulting Group

Amy Kaminski, Office of the Chief Scientist, NASA

Jonathan Krezel, Program Executive, Space Launch Sytem, NASA

Daryle Lademan, Director, Strategy and Planning, BAE Systems

Katrina Laygo, Intel Division Officer, US Navy

Emma Lehnhardt, Office of the Chief Financial Officer, NASA

Rich Leshner, Planet Labs

Celine Levesque, Faculty Member, University of Ottawa

Peter Marquez, Former Director for Space Policy, National Security Council

Nicolas Peter, European Space Agency (ESA) seconded to the European Space Policy Institute (ESPI)

Becky Ramsey, Office of Communications, NASA

Jana Kosarkova Robinson, Space Policy Officer, Security Policy and Conflict Prevention, European External Action Service (EEAS); Special National Expert (SNE), Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Czech Republic

Robie Samanta Roy, Senate Armed Services Committee; formerly Assistant Director for Space and Aeronautics, Office of Science and Technology Policy

Audrey Schaffer, Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Space Policy

Avery Sen, Program Manager, Oceanic and Atmosopheric Research, NOAA

George Tahu, Program Executive, Mars and Lunar Exploration, NASA

David Turner, Office of Space and Advanced Technology, U.S. Department of State

Tommy Sanford, Commercial Space Flight Federation

Matthew Varthalamis, Environment, Science, and Technology Officer
U.S. Embassy, Athens

James Vedda, Director, Center for Space Policy and Strategy, Aerospace Corporation

Beth Weinstein, Deputy Program Manager, Earth Science DAAC, Goddard Space Flight Center

Kirk Woellert, External Payloads Manager, Nanoracks

Pictured above: Kirk Woellert who is directly involved with putting small payloads into orbit for Nanoracks.




»SPI Director, Scott Pace is quoted in the Politico article How Elon Musk eposed billions in questionable Pentagon spending discussing the role of ULA in American space capabilities.

»SPI Director, Scott Pace, testifies in front of the House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology Subcommittee on Environment on NOAA Utilization of Commercial Remote Sensing Data.

»SPI Director, Scott Pace, testifies in front of the Senate Commerce, Science, & Transportation committee on U.S. Human Exploration Goals and Commercial Space Competitiveness. His testimony is available online.

»On October 16, 2015, the Space Policy Institute hosted an informal discussion during which Dr. Philippe Brunet, European Commission Director for Space Policy, Copernicus, and Defense Industry described the plans of the European Union to become the primary European actor in space policy and programs.

»Current SPI Graduate Student Zack Hester's article NASA's Lessons Learned in Long-Duration Spaceflight: The Shuttle-Mir Program was published in Quest Vol. 23, No. 1, 2016.

»SPI Alum Mia Brown wrote an article titled Launch Dilemna: The role of the commercial sector in America's space program which was published by the Brookings Institution.

»Prof. Jack Burns, Vice President Emeritus at the University of Colorado, presented a distinguished lecture "Exploring the Universe from the Moon". It can be viewed online

»Dr. Scott Pace, Director of the Space Policy Institute, spoke on The Implications of U.S. Space Policy Choices at the California Institute of Technology. A video of the lecture is available for viewing here.

»Dr. Scott Pace, Visiting Scholar Deganit Paikowsky, and four SPI alumni attended the 2015 International Astronautical Congress in Jerusalem.

»Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund, SPI Research Professor, became Chair of the Executive Board of the German Aerospace Center (DLR). Read the announcement here.

»SPI Alum, Stephanie Wan, has been elected as Co-chair of the Space Generation Advisory Council. Congratulations Stephanie! Further information is available online.

»SPI hosts "Careers in Space Policy: A Panel Discussion" with the American Institute of Astronautics and Astrophysics National Capital Section Young Professionals Committee and the GW AIAA Student Chapter.

arrow icon More News

Contact Us

Phone: 202.994.7292
Fax: 202.994.1639

Space Policy Institute
1957 E Street, N.W., Suite 403
Washington, D.C. 20052