CalendarsResearch Subscribe to 
E-mails In the News Photos Global Media Institute Media Relations ByGeorge! GW Magazine Publications Advertising Graphic Design Community Photography
GW logo
GW News Center

Campus Advisories

Printer Friendly

June 27, 2006

Claire Duggan:(202) 994-0616;
Matt Lindsay: (202) 994-1423;


WASHINGTON -- The George Washington University Law School Dean Frederick M. Lawrence has announced the appointment of six faculty members to endowed chairs and research professorships, effective in the fall 2006 semester.

"It is always a great pleasure to be able to acknowledge at the same time both excellence in our faculty and the generosity of our benefactors," said Lawrence. "Each of these individuals is deserving of recognition for outstanding contributions to scholarship, and I am certain each will bring honor to those for whom the positions are named."

Theresa A. Gabaldon has been named the Lyle T. Alverson Professor of Law.  A recognized expert and scholar in the field of securities law, Gabaldon joined the GW Law School faculty in 1990.  She is the author of a leading casebook in securities law and is widely published in the areas of securities law and professional responsibility.

Lawrence E. Mitchell has been named the Theodore Rinehart Professor of Business Law.  Mitchell, who joined the GW faculty in 1991, is noted for his scholarly writing in the areas of corporate law and corporate responsibility, as well as several works for general readers. He is founder and director of the GW Law School's Institute for International Corporate Governance and Accountability.

Roger H. Trangsrud is the inaugural appointee to the recently endowed James F. Humphreys Chair in Complex Litigation and Civil Procedure.  Trangsrud is an expert and scholar in the field of complex litigation and author of a casebook on that subject.  He joined the faculty in 1982 and served the GW Law School for 13 years as senior associate dean for academic affairs and as interim dean in 2004-05.

Paul Butler has been named the Carville Dickinson Benson Research Professor of Law.  Butler, who joined the Law School faculty in 1993, is a noted expert in the fields of race relations and criminal law.  He has been awarded the Soros Justice Fellowship for 2006-07, during which time he will complete a book about the future of criminal justice.

Naomi R. Cahn has been named the John Theodore Fey Research Professor of Law.  She is a nationally recognized expert and prolific scholar in the fields of family law, domestic violence, and professional responsibility.  A member of the faculty since 1993, Cahn also serves as the GW Law School's associate dean for faculty development.

John F. Duffy has been named the Oswald Symister Colclough Research Professor of Law.  Duffy, who joined the faculty in 2003, teaches and writes in the fields of torts, administrative law, patent law, and international intellectual property law.  He is co-author of the leading casebook on patent law.

Accredited by the American Bar Association and a charter member of the Association of American Law Schools, The George Washington University Law School enrolls approximately 1,850 students each year. GW Law has been a leader in intellectual property education and scholarship for more than a hundred years and today has one of the most highly regarded academic specialty programs in the United States.

For more information about the GW Law School, visit
For more news about GW, visit the GW News Center at

- GW -



©1996-2017 The George Washington University Office of University Relations, Washington, D.C.
Submit questions/comments