MEDIA CONTACT: Matthew Nehmer

May 15, 2000

(202) 994-6467

Outstanding Men and Women in the Federal Government to be Honored June 8th


The 51st Annual Arthur S. Flemming Awards Program, honoring outstanding men and women in the federal government. Recognized by the president of the United States, agency heads and the private sector, winners are selected from all areas of the federal service. Awarded by GW since 1998, the Flemming Awards are presented to individuals with three to 15 years of government experience, who have made extraordinary contributions to the federal government. The 2000 award recipients are:

Administrative Category: Michael R. Berman, Ph.D., U.S. Air Force; Ronald P. Christman Jr., Defense Intelligence Agency; Maria C. Freire, Ph.D., National Institutes of Health; David Mordecai Stevens, M.D., National Institutes of Health; Lieutenant Commander Paul F. Thomas, P.E., U.S. Coast Guard; Coleen B. Vogel, U.S. Mint.

Applied Science Category: Isabel Poffenbarger Arrington, Ph.D., D.V.M., U.S. Department of Agriculture; Alan Kirk Dowdy, Ph.D., U.S. Department of Agriculture; Steven Marc Huybrechts, Ph.D., U.S. Air Force.

Scientific Category: Fern Y. Hunt, Ph.D., National Institute of Standards and Technology; Paul David Lett, Ph.D., National Institute of Standards and Technology; Griffin Platt Rodgers, M.D., National Institutes of Health.


June 8, 2000
6:30 p.m. - Reception,
7:15 p.m. - Awards Presentation
8:30 p.m. - Dinner (Black-Tie/By Special Invitation Only)


Cosmos Club
6:30 p.m. - Reception,
7:15 p.m. - Awards Presentation
8:30 p.m. - Dinner (Black-Tie/By Special Invitation Only)



Dr. Arthur Sherwood Flemming’s exemplary career spanned seven decades of service to the federal government and higher education. His career began as a member of the U.S. Civil Service Commission in 1939. He went on to serve as president of three universities; director of the Office of Defense Mobilization; secretary of the U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare; chairman of the U.S. Commission on Aging, the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights and the Citizens Commission on Civil Rights; and co-chair of Save our Security Coalition. In 1994, President Clinton awarded Flemming, who passed away in September 1996, the Medal of Freedom in recognition of his peerless dedication to his country.

In a speech before the Washington, D.C. Downtown Jaycees in the late 1940s, Flemming suggested that the group create an award to recognize exceptional young employees within the federal government. Flemming felt that a chapter in the nation’s capital was in the perfect position to educate the public about the contributions young civil servants made to America. In 1948, the Downtown Jaycees established and presented the first Flemming Awards. Past Flemming honorees include Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan (1965); Elizabeth Hanford Dole (1971); and Dr. Anthony Fauci, director of the National Institute for Allergies and Infectious Diseases (1979). More than 400 individuals have received the award to date.

-- GW --