CalendarsResearch Subscribe to 
E-mails In the News Photos On The Air Media Relations ByGeorge! GW Magazine Publications Advertising Graphic Design Community Photography
GW logo
GW News Center

Campus Advisories

Printer Friendly
06/06/05 07:00 PM - 08:00 PM

May 31, 2005 

Eric Solomon: (202) 994-3087;


GW To Host 56th Annual Awards Ceremony
U.S. Comptroller General David Walker to Keynote, June 6

WASHINGTON - The Arthur S. Flemming Awards Commission has named 11 of the best and brightest in federal government service as recipients of the 56th annual Flemming Awards. Recognized by the President of the United States, agency executives, and the private sector, the Flemming Awards honor individuals with three to 15 years of public service experience for their extraordinary contributions to the federal government.

The awards ceremony will take place at The George Washington University's Jack Morton Auditorium, 805 21st St., N.W., on Monday, June 6, at 7 p.m. The ceremony is hosted by The George Washington University and sponsored by BearingPoint Inc., Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC), and Touchstone Consulting Group. This year's keynote address will be delivered by David Walker, comptroller general of the United States.

"Public servants focus their efforts on making a difference for the greater good of all Americans rather than the narrow interest of a few individuals or organizations," said Walker. "We need our best and brightest to do the people's work in these changing and challenging times."

This year's Flemming Awards winners are:

Applied Science Category

Steven R. Jefferts - National Institute of Standards and Technology
Awarded for outstanding technical and managerial leadership of the world's most accurate atomic clock.

Keith R. Lykke - National Institute of Standards and Technology
Awarded for his leadership in the development of an innovative facility that performs high-accuracy optical radiation measurements. 

Gareth Wyn Parry - U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Awarded for his sustained outstanding contributions to the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission's development and use of risk-informed decision making in its regulatory activities.

Paul C. Schirmer - U.S. Air Force
Awarded for his exceptional leadership of the entire Air Force enterprise architecture that integrates combat, mobility, and space architecture into a framework known as the Command & Control Constellation.

Program Management Category

Jeanette Meixner Franzel - U.S. Government Accountability Office
Awarded for her vision, extensive efforts, and tangible input to modernizing and improving auditing standards and accountability for auditors of federal, state, and local government programs, as well as private organizations that receive federal funding through grants and other federal programs.

Daniel I. Gordon - U.S. Government Accountability Office
Awarded for his exceptional leadership and management of the Procurement Law Division at the United States Government Accountability Office as managing associate general counsel. 

Stephon James Tonko - U.S. Air Force
Awarded for his singularly exceptional role in leading the United States' priority efforts of delivering key counterterrorism capabilities.

Scientific Category

Jose E. Barrera - U.S. Air Force
Awarded for providing substantial research contributions throughout his 15-year affiliation with the United States Air Force.

Keith L. Cartwright - U.S. Air Force
Awarded for the past four years of successfully directing a team of more than 30 scientists and engineers focused toward developing a state-of-the-art software package known as the Improved Concurrent Electromagnetic Particle-in-Cell (ICEPIC) software code.

Daniel Fischer - National Institute of Standards and Technology
Awarded for his pioneering work in developing and utilizing a "first-in-the-world" facility for soft x-ray absorption spectroscopy that has enabled key scientific and technological advances.

Jun Ye - National Institute of Standards and Technology
Awarded for his contributions to the fields of precision measurement, quantum optics, ultra sensitive detection, and cold molecules.

About the Arthur S. Flemming Awards:

In a speech before the Washington, D.C., Downtown Jaycees in the late 1940s, Arthur Sherwood Flemming suggested the group create an award to recognize exceptional young employees within the federal government. Flemming felt a chapter in the nation's capital could educate the public about the contributions young civil servants make to America. In 1948, the Downtown Jaycees established and presented the first Flemming Awards. Past Flemming honorees include Sen. Daniel Patrick Moynihan (1965); former astronaut Neil Armstrong (1969); Sen. Elizabeth Dole (1971); Dr. Anthony Fauci, director of the National Institute for Allergies and Infectious Diseases (1979); and Nobel Prize Co-Laureate William Phillips (1987). More than 400 individuals have received the award to date. GW first presented the awards in 1998.

Flemming's exemplary career spanned seven decades of service to the federal government and higher education. His career began as a member of the U.S. Civil Service Commission in 1939. He went on to serve as president of three universities; director of the Office of Defense Mobilization; secretary of the U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare; chairman of the U.S. Commission on Aging, the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, and the Citizens Commission on Civil Rights; and co-chair of Save Our Security Coalition.  In 1994, President Clinton awarded Flemming, who passed away in September 1996, the Medal of Freedom in recognition of his peerless dedication to his country.

This year's awards are being sponsored by BearingPoint Inc. (, one of the world's largest business consulting and systems integration firms, SAIC, the largest employee-owned research and engineering firm in the nation (, and Touchstone Consulting Group, which provides help to leaders in both the public and private sector achieve outcomes intended to make their organizations more efficient and effective, (

For more information on the Flemming Awards, visit
Media wishing to cover the awards ceremony should contact
Eric Solomon at (202) 994-3087.
For more news about GW, visit the GW News Center at

- GW -




©1996-2018 The George Washington University Office of University Relations, Washington, D.C.
Submit questions/comments