CalendarsResearch Subscribe to 
E-mails In the News Photos On The Air Media Relations ByGeorge! GW Magazine Publications Advertising Graphic Design Community Photography
GW logo
GW News Center

Campus Advisories

Printer Friendly

April 18, 2006

CONTACT: Adela de la Torre
(202) 994-6424;


Award is Highest Honor Bestowed by GW President and Alumni Association

WASHINGTON - GW President Stephen Joel Trachtenberg and the George Washington Alumni Association have announced the recipients of the 70th annual Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award. The six winners will be honored at a ceremony May 20 at 11:30 a.m. at The Madison Hotel and will be recognized during the GW Commencement on the National Mall on Sunday, May 21. 

"Rarely have we had the honor of bringing together such a distinguished group of leaders in areas as diverse as public service, industry, politics, law, and medicine," said Stephen Joel Trachtenberg, President of the University. "This year's recipients serve as extraordinary models for the graduating class of 2006."

This year's recipients are:

Thad Allen, M.P.A. '86, received a nomination from President Bush to become the 23rd United States Coast Guard Commandant and is expected to begin his duties in May 2006. Allen currently is vice admiral and chief of staff to the Coast Guard. In September 2005, Allen was appointed on-site head of Hurricane Katrina relief operations. Beginning as a serviceman on Coast Guard cutters nearly 30 years ago, he rose to commander of the Seventh Coast Guard District, in charge of all Coast Guard operations in the Southeastern United States and the Caribbean. Allen also served as transition director for the Coast Guard and is credited with leading its smooth transfer in 2003 from the Department of Transportation to the Department of Homeland Security. Allen graduated from the Coast Guard Academy in 1971 and holds a second master's degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Michael B. Enzi, B.B.A. '66, currently serves as a U.S. Senator from Wyoming. Enzi began his career in public service in 1967 when he enlisted with the Wyoming Air National Guard. The only accountant in the United States Senate, Enzi played a lead role in crafting the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, legislation that created greater transparency and governance over the way U.S. firms conduct business. In January 2005 committee members elected Enzi chairman of the Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee.  An active GW supporter, Enzi is a loyal donor to the School of Business Dean's Fund.

Jordan M. Hadelman, M.A. '78, currently serves as chairman and chief executive officer of Witt/Kieffer, Ford, Hadelman & Lloyd, which is among the nation's top 10 executive search firms and the only one that specializes in health care and education. As a healthcare recruitment specialist, he has helped to staff many of the most prestigious chief executive officer and senior-level positions at hospitals and health systems across the country. In 2003, Hadelman received The George Washington University Health Services Management and Policy Distinguished Alumni Award for outstanding leadership and performance in the healthcare field.

Barbara Joan Pariente, J.D. '73, is chief justice of the Florida Supreme Court. Pariente was appointed to the Fourth District Court of Appeals in 1993, where she served until her appointment in 1997 to the Florida Supreme Court. As chief justice, she works to improve court methods for handling cases involving families and children. A continual advocate for children, she has served on the Governor's Advisory Committee on Character Education and as a member of the Florida Bar's Commission on the Legal Needs of Children. Additionally, through Take Stock in Children, she mentors school-age youth. Pariente received the Lifetime Achievement Award in 1998 from the Palm Beach County Jewish Federation; was the 2002 recipient of the Jewish Museum's "Breaking the Glass Ceiling" award; and the 2005 recipient of the Florida Bar Public Interest Law Section's Hugh S. Glickstein Child Advocate of the Year Award.

Harold C. Pillsbury III, B.A. '70, M.D. '72, is the Thomas J. Dark Distinguished Professor of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery and chair of the Department of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery at the University of North Carolina School of Medicine in Chapel Hill, N.C. Pillsbury is board certified by the American Board of Otolaryngology. Extremely active in the medical arena, he has served as a fellow in the American Surgical Association and as the president of four organizations - the Society of University Otolaryngology, the American Laryngological Association, the American Academy of Otolaryngology, and the American Board of Otolaryngology. In 2002, 2003, and 2004, Pillsbury was recognized in America's Top Doctors for otolaryngology. In April 2005, Pillsbury received the Distinguished Faculty Award, given annually by the University of North Carolina School of Medicine Medical Alumni Association.

Frederick (Fritz) J. Scheuren, M.A. '71, Ph.D. '72, currently serves as the vice president of statistics at the National Opinion Research Center at the University of Chicago and as the 100th president of the American Statistics Association, the largest statistical professional organization in the world. Scheuren spent several years working for the federal government, and retired in 1994 from his position as director of the statistics division at the Internal Revenue Service.  As vice president for statistics at the National Opinion Research Center, Scheuren leads a major statistical initiative focused on Native Americans. He also has a pro bono human rights statistical practice for which he travels extensively. 

The Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award is the highest form of recognition given by the University and The George Washington Alumni Association to alumni on an annual basis.  Each recipient has made a lasting impact on society through outstanding professional, voluntary, or philanthropic accomplishments.  Prior recipients include Colin Powell, former U.S. Secretary of State; J. Edgar Hoover, former FBI director; Allyn E. Kilsheimer, CEO of KCE Structural Engineers; Zelda D. Fichandler, founder of Arena Stage in Washington, D.C.; and Joseph Prueher, former U.S. Ambassador to China. 

For more information on the GW Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award, please visit
For more news about GW, visit the GW News Center at

- GW -



©1996-2019 The George Washington University Office of University Relations, Washington, D.C.
Submit questions/comments