As Seen By The Dean
GW Law Briefs

Public Interest Corner
International Update
Faculty File

Alumni Events
Law Newsmakers


Contact Us
Alumni Association
Law Alumni Association
GW News Center

Dean Frederick M. Lawrence and MPAA Chairman and CEO Dan Glickman with the Law School Class of 2006.
Abdul El-Tayef/WPPI

Motion Picture Association of America Chairman Dan Glickman addresses graduates at Law School diploma ceremony

By Laura Ewald

Motion Picture Association of America Chairman and CEO Dan Glickman delivers the Shapiro Public Service Lecture at the Law School diploma ceremony.

Abdul El-Tayef/WPPI

On May 21, nearly 600 GW Law graduates celebrated the University’s commencement on the National Mall, enjoying the clear day and remarks by former President George H.W. Bush, former first lady Barbara Bush, and Viacom/CBS Chairman Sumner M. Redstone. Shortly after, they gathered with family members, friends, and faculty and staff members in GW’s Charles E. Smith Athletic Center for the Law School’s diploma ceremony, which featured an address by Motion Picture Association of America Chairman and CEO Dan Glickman, JD ’69.

President Stephen Joel Trachtenberg and Dean Frederick M. Lawrence conferred an honorary degree upon Glickman, who then presented the Shapiro Public Service Lecture.

The former secretary of agriculture stressed the importance of political and social involvement and “likeability” as building blocks to a good life. “It is well worth remembering that while your schooling has been first class here at GW, and your knowledge of the law is keen, and your abilities and success in whatever you do has been given a great foundation here … honing and sharpening your ‘people skills,’ as well as your judgment and common sense, will really determine how successful you will be.”

Student Bar Association President Eric Koester, JD ’06

Abdul El-Tayef/WPPI

Lawrence acknowledged the “Old Guard,” graduates from the classes of 1956 and earlier, with G. Franklin Rothwell, JD ’56, serving as the grand marshal. Lawrence then thanked contributors to the 2006 class gift, which benefited the Loan Reimbursement Assistance Program.

The Distinguished Faculty Service Award, given each year by the graduating Juris Doctor class, was presented to Professor Thomas Colby. The class of 2006 also presented awards to adjunct faculty members Barry Boss, JD ’85, Cathy A. Costantino, and Frederic Freilicher, as well as Rosanne L. O’Hara, director of academic support services.

Jennifer Lee Mascott, JD ’06, received the John Bell Larner Award for the highest cumulative average in the course for the Juris Doctor degree. Kevin Alan Baumert, JD ’06, received the Anne Wells Branscomb Award for the highest cumulative average in the part-time evening division. Jasmine Chloe Aherne, JD ’06, was selected by her classmates to receive the Michael Dillon Cooley Memorial Award.

Other highlights of Commencement Weekend included a special brunch for members of the Old Guard and a dean’s reception held for graduates and their families at the Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum.

Graduates relax before the ceremonies on the National Mall and in the Charles E. Smith Athletic Center.

Abdul El-Tayef/WPPI

Before the diploma ceremony, the Law School held a brunch for the Old Guard, members of the classes of 1956 and earlier. G. Franklin Rothwell, JD ’56, (first from left in second row) served as grand marshal.

Claire Duggan

Dean Frederick M. Lawrence congratulates a graduate and her family.

Abdul El-Tayef/WPPI